OUR PHILOSOPHY
chateauFleurDeLisse_biodynamie.jpg
BIODYNAMICS: CONNECTING WITH NATURE

“We chose in 2016 to convert all our vineyards to organic farming and to biodynamic practices. We had recently acquired Château Fleur de Lisse and Château L’Etampe. Nature’s intelligence and monitoring its ecosystem are central to Jade Vineyards’ values.  Vintage after vintage, we produce our wines, in the full respect of the terroir, our winemakers, the consumer and future generations. It’s our vision of how to run a vineyard in the 21st century. ”

Caroline Teycheney, President.

chateauFleurDeLisse_lune.jpg

ONCE UPON A TIME THERE WAS RUDOLF STEINER

We owe this agricultural approach to the Austrian scientist and philosopher Rudolf Steiner (1861-1925). In 1924, he lays down its foundations addressing farmers’ concerns about agricultural production. They are worried about declining food and seed quality. The Steiner approach opens new perspectives. It’s based on close observation of natural phenomena. The scientist views the Earth as a “Whole”. It’s a “living entity” where balance and harmony are the unique goal for both human beings and nature. Steiner’s “Agriculture Course” brings together all his eight lectures. It lays out the basic theories and practices of this agriculture, which today, more than ever, makes sense.

WHY?

These practices aim to improve, regenerate and energize soil life. They also strengthen the vine’s immunity and encourage biodiversity. The goal is to restore unity in the ecosystems and boost inter level exchanges: from microscopic soil life to planetary influences.

 

THE GUIDING PRINCIPLES

Steiner offers a method with an innovative approach. Nature, the elements, minerals, plants and animals are understood in terms of terrestrial and cosmic rhythms. The fundamentals of his theory are based on three pillars: agricultural organisms, the “preparations” and cosmic rhythms.

AGRICULTURAL ORGANISMS

 

Biodynamics is based on a deep understanding of the laws of the “living”. The “agricultural organism” concept views each farm as a whole living entity working in harmony. All elements complement each other and outside additions are limited as much as possible.  

THE PREPARATIONS

 

There are eight basic preparations: two preparations to spray on the soil and crops and six to add to compost. They are prepared using medicinal plants, cow dung or quartz crystals. They are applied in homeopathic doses for their energizing properties. There is no denying their impact on vine health and on the fundamental quality of our wines.

_DSC3598.jpg

“At Jade Vineyards, we use plant based preparations. The plants, fresh or dried, are harvested from the estate. They are employed in infusions and decoctions to produce a tincture or extract the essential oils. This boosts both the vine’s natural defenses and its vigor, protects it from certain parasites and reduces sulfur and copper use during the season. ”

Nicolas Géré, Vineyard Manager.

PREPARATIONS FOR SPRAYING
chateauFleurDeLisse_corne.jpg

THE HORN BOUSE OR “500”

Compost is made by placing cow manure inside a cow horn. It’s buried for winter and dug up in spring. This compost is then sprayed on the vines after being “energized”. It boosts soil biodiversity and stimulates root growth.

chateauFleurDeLisse_silice.jpg

COW HORN SILICA OR “501”

It’s made from ground down quartz and is also inserted into cow horns. This preparation works mainly on the surface part of the plants. It acts as an excess of solar light for plants and stimulates their development.

PREPARATIONS FOR COMPOST
chateauFleurDeLisse_achillee.jpg

YARROW OR “502”

It plays a special role in the movement of sulfur and potash.

chateauFleurDeLisse_matricaire.jpg

GERMAN CHAMOMILE OR “503”

It is linked to metabolizing calcium. It regulates nitrogen levels. It strengthens and stimulates plant growth. 

chateauFleurDeLisse_ortie.jpg

NETTLE OR “504

It has a relationship with nitrogen and iron. It reinforces the action of the first two preparations. It promotes the organic process.

chateauFleurDeLisse_ecorce.jpg

OAK BARK OR “505”

 

It has a relationship with calcium.  It boosts a plant’s immunity to disease.

chateauFleurDeLisse_pissenlit.jpg

DANDELION OR “506”

It has a strong relationship with potash, limestone and nitrogen.

chateauFleurDeLisse_valeriane.jpg

VALERIAN OR “507”

It plays a role in mobilizing phosphorous. It forms a sort of protective coat of heat around the compost.

_DSC1143.jpg
chateauFleurDeLisse_dynamiseur.jpg

THE DYNAMIZER

 

Dynamization is a concept central to biodynamics. It’s based on the idea that in nature, flowing water carries more life than stagnant water. The 500 and 501 preparations are first diluted in water then stirred before being sprayed. The preparation is stirred in one direction to make a vortex. This vortex is then broken by stirring it in the opposite direction.

chateauFleurDeLisse_lune.jpg

WORKING WITH COSMIC RHYTHMS

 

The moon and the planets influence the development and growth of the vines. Awareness of their power determines our vineyard workers planting calendar (fruit, flower, roots and leaves days). This calendar is well known to both gardeners and our grandparents. Its sets out the schedule for sowing, planting, tillage, the best times for pruning, harvesting, winemaking and even racking and bottling.

chateauFleurDeLisse_biodynamie_3.JPG
chateauFleurDeLisse_biodynamie_2.JPG
chateauFleurDeLisse_biodynamie_1.jpg

SENSITIVE CRYSTALLIZATION TECHNIQUE 

 

Nicolas Géré works closely with « sensitive crystallization « specialist, Margarethe Chapelle (Laboratoire Œnocristal). A product’s natural energetic qualities are revealed with this method centered on the crystallization of copper chloride. For grape growing, it allows us to not only determine a vintage’s profile but also to identify and correct possible imbalances in the vine plant and the soil. 

HVE_exploitation_ocre.png
AB_vert.png

MANIFESTE
chateauFleurDeLisse_biodynamie.jpg
LA BIODYNAMIE, SE CONNECTER À LA NATURE

“Nous avons fait le choix, en 2016, à l’acquisition des Château Fleur de Lisse et Château L’Etampe, de convertir l’ensemble de nos vignobles à l’agriculture biologique et à la culture biodynamique. L’intelligence de la nature et l’observation de son écosystème sont au cœur des valeurs des Vignobles Jade. C’est dans ce respect du terroir, de nos vignerons, du consommateur et des générations futures que nous produisons tous nos vins, millésime après millésime. Il s’agit là de notre vision du vignoble du XXIème siècle.”  

Caroline Teycheney, Présidente.

IL ÉTAIT UNE FOIS RUDOLF STEINER

On doit cette conception de l’agriculture au philosophe et scientifique autrichien Rudolf Steiner (1861-1925). Il en pose les fondements pour répondre aux préoccupations des agriculteurs, qui en 1924, rencontraient déjà des difficultés dans la production agricole. La baisse de qualité des aliments et des semences les inquiète. Basée sur une observation subtile des phénomènes naturels, l’approche de Steiner ouvre des perspectives novatrices. Le scientifique considère la Terre comme un “Tout”. Une “entité vivante” dans laquelle l’être humain et la nature ont pour seule et unique quête, l’équilibre et l’harmonie. Dans son Cours aux agriculteurs, ouvrage qui rassemble l'ensemble de ses huit conférences, Steiner établit les principes théoriques et pratiques de cette agriculture qui aujourd’hui plus que jamais, fait sens.

DANS QUEL BUT ?

L’ambition de cette pratique est d’améliorer, régénérer et dynamiser la vie des sols, de renforcer l’immunité de la vigne ainsi que de favoriser la biodiversité. Son but est donc de restaurer l’unité des écosystèmes et stimuler les échanges entre les différents niveaux. De la vie microscopique du sol jusqu’aux influences planétaires.

 

LES PRINCIPES


Steiner propose une méthode qui apporte une impulsion novatrice permettant de concevoir la nature, les éléments, les minéraux, les plantes et les animaux en tenant compte des rythmes terrestres et cosmiques. Les fondamentaux de sa théorie reposent sur trois piliers : les organismes agricoles, les préparations et les rythmes cosmiques.

LES ORGANISMES AGRICOLES

 

La biodynamie se base sur une profonde compréhension des lois du “vivant”. La notion “d’organisme agricole” considère toute exploitation agricole comme une entité globale vivante qui fonctionne en harmonie, où tous les éléments se complètent, où on fait appel le moins possible à ce qui vient de l’extérieur.

LES PRÉPARATIONS

 

Les préparations de base sont au nombre de huit. Deux préparations à pulvériser sur le sol et les cultures et six à introduire dans les composts. Élaborées à partir de plantes médicinales, de bouse de vache ou encore de cristaux de quartz, elles sont utilisées à dose homéopathique pour leur action énergétique. Ces préparations ont un impact indéniable sur la santé des vignes et sur les qualités intrinsèques de nos vins.

“Aux Vignobles Jade, nous utilisons des préparations à base de plantes fraîches récoltées autour de nos vignobles ou séchées, en purin tisanes ou en décoction, sous forme de teintures mères et d’huiles essentielles. Cela permet de renforcer les défenses naturelles de la vigne, d’en booster sa vigueur, de la protéger de certains parasites et de diminuer l’utilisation de souffre et de cuivre durant la saison.” 

Nicolas Géré, Directeur d’exploitation.

LES PRÉPARATIONS À PULVÉRISER
chateauFleurDeLisse_corne.jpg

LA BOUSE DE CORNE OU “500”

Elle consiste à faire un compost en plaçant de la bouse de vache dans une corne. Enterré l’hiver et ressorti au printemps, ce compost est pulvérisé sur les vignes après avoir été “dynamisé”. Elle favorise la biodiversité des sols tout en stimulant la croissance racinaire.

chateauFleurDeLisse_silice.jpg

LA SILICE DE CORNE OU “501”

Réalisée à partir de quartz broyé et également insérée dans des cornes de vache, cette préparation s’adresse plus particulièrement à la partie aérienne des plantes. Elle agit comme un surplus de lumière solaire pour les plantes et stimule leur développement.

LES PRÉPARATIONS DU COMPOST
chateauFleurDeLisse_achillee.jpg

ACHILLÉE MILLEFEUILLE OU “502”

Elle joue un rôle particulier sur la mobilité du soufre et de la potasse.

chateauFleurDeLisse_matricaire.jpg

CAMOMILLE MATRICAIRE OU “503”

Elle est liée au métabolisme du calcium, elle régularise le processus de l’azote et stimule la croissance des plantes et les fortifie.

chateauFleurDeLisse_ortie.jpg

ORTIE OU “504

Elle est en rapport avec l’azote et le fer, elle renforce l’influence des deux premières préparations. Elle favorise une bonne humification.

chateauFleurDeLisse_ecorce.jpg

ÉCORCE DE CHÊNE OU “505”

 

Elle a un rapport avec le calcium et renforce l’immunité des plantes contre les maladies

chateauFleurDeLisse_pissenlit.jpg

PISSENLIT OU “506”

Elle a une action particulière sur les processus de la potasse, du calcaire et de l’azote.

chateauFleurDeLisse_valeriane.jpg

VALÉRIANE OU “507”

Elle a une action sur la mobilité du phosphore et forme une sorte de manteau de chaleur protecteur autour du compost.

chateauFleurDeLisse_dynamiseur.jpg

LE DYNAMISEUR

 

La dynamisation est un concept central de la biodynamie. Il repose sur l’idée que dans la nature, une eau vive est plus porteuse de vie qu’une eau stagnante. Avant d’être pulvérisées, les préparations 500 et 501 sont diluées dans l’eau et brassées. L’opération consiste à créer un vortex en mettant la préparation en mouvement dans un sens, puis à casser ce vortex en la faisant tourner en sens inverse.

chateauFleurDeLisse_lune.jpg

TRAVAILLER AVEC LES RYTHMES COSMIQUES

 

La Lune et les planètes influencent le développement et la croissance des ceps de vignes. La prise en compte de leurs forces est l'autre aspect qui rythme le travail de nos vignerons, à travers le calendrier des semis (jours fruits, fleurs, racines, feuilles). Bien connu des jardiniers et de nos grands-parents, ce calendrier traduit les observations de différents scientifiques au travers d'indications pratiques pour les différents travaux agricoles : périodes de semis, de plantation ou de travail du sol, moments favorables pour la taille, la récolte, la vinification ou encore le soutirage et la mise en bouteilles.

LA CRISTALLISATION SENSIBLE

 

Nicolas Géré travaille en étroite collaboration avec Margarethe Chapelle, la spécialiste de la “cristallisation sensible” (Laboratoire Œnocristal). Cette méthode basée sur la cristallisation du chlorure de cuivre permet de mettre en évidence les qualités énergétiques que dégage un produit. Appliquée à la viticulture, elle permet de déterminer le profil d'un millésime, mais aussi de diagnostiquer et corriger d’éventuels déséquilibres sur la vigne et le sol.

HVE_exploitation_ocre.png
AB_vert.png